Driver who hit, killed Marilyn Dershowitz, sister-in-law of Alan Dershowitz, may not be charged

Driver who hit, killed Marilyn Dershowitz, sister-in-law of Alan Dershowitz, may not be charged.

Driver who hit, killed Marilyn Dershowitz, sister-in-law of Alan Dershowitz, may not be charged

DAILY NEWS WRITERS

Originally Published: Sunday, July 3rd 2011, 2:33 PM
Updated: Sunday, July 3rd 2011, 7:16 PM

The husband of a cyclist killed by a postal service truck said Sunday that the driver must have seen his wife before his vehicle struck her.

Marilyn Dershowitz, 68, sister-in-law of legal giant Alan Dershowitz, died Saturday after the truck driven by Ian Clement, 62, hit her on W. 29th St. near Ninth Ave.

Clement apparently didn’t even know he hit the biker and may not face charges, police sources said Sunday.

But Nathan Dershowitz, the victim’s mourning husband, who was biking just ahead of his wife, believes otherwise. “If they did the work and spoke to the people I spoke to, it is inconceivable from what they told me that he did not see her,” he said.

The Tudor City couple was pedaling to the West Side bike path about noon when the accident occurred. She was wearing a helmet while riding a silver mountain bike, investigators said.

“What I was told (at the scene) was that two vehicles, neither one was willing to yield to another, so they both went through too narrow of a space to get through,” said
Nathan Dershowitz, a criminal defense lawyer. “She was ahead of both vehicles. The driver just ran her over.”

Read the full story here: New York Daily News

2 Comments

Filed under behaviour, Cities, in the news, New York, safety

2 responses to “Driver who hit, killed Marilyn Dershowitz, sister-in-law of Alan Dershowitz, may not be charged

  1. Scary. I think about this kind of thing when I walk country roads. People who are so focused on their plans that they don’t see folks right in front of them.

    Hope you wear neon colors and flashing lights and have an airhorn to blow when you ride.

  2. Pit

    Hi Kathleen,
    Yes, I agree. I also think that is very scary. Sometimes I think I sholuld no longer ride my bicycle down here in southern Texas, at least not on public roads. But then, where else could I go? And I do like the exercise out in the open, and not in a gym. So I simply block the thoughts of accidents out when I’m bicycling. I do everything I can to ride safely, but my safety – and my life -is not only in my hands. I’m especially afraid of distracted drivers coming up from behind me. But there’s nothing I can do about that. Not even watching my rear mirror helps much, I think. As to making myself visible: I don’t wear neon colours, but I do wear brightly coloured jerseys and bright yellow bicycling shoes. I don’t have flashing lights, though, as i believe they don’t help much during daytime and I don’t ride my bicycle in the dark And I don’t have an airhorn. On the one hand, that won’t help when cars are coming up from behind, and I don’t think drivers would hear it anyway. Let’s just keeop our fingers crossed.
    Best regards,
    Pit

I' d really love to hear from y'alls!

