Bike Lanes II: The Condemned Motorist Speaks

In this post, John Cassidy explains – and, in a way, retracts – some of his former statements about bicycle lanes in New York:

“As I was saying about the bike lobby…

I am tempted to let the fury of the reaction to my mildly heretical piece speak for itself, but, before I get burned at the stake, a few specific points.

It seems to have escaped notice that I said I support the introduction of bike lanes, but not so many of them. Herewith: ‘So, by all means, let us have some bike lanes on heavily used and clearly defined routes to and from the city—and on popular biking routes within the city and the boroughs.’

[…]”

quoted from: The New Yorker

Leave a comment

Filed under bicycle lanes, bicycling, in the news, laws & ordinances, legislation, safety

I' d really love to hear from y'alls!

