Too Close an Encounter with an 18-Wheeler

On today’s ride I had, for the first time in all my bicycling on South-Texas roads, a very – to my mind much too – close encounter with a big rig. It was on FM 887  – a two-lane road without a shoulder – that I was overtaken by a big 18-wheeler despite oncoming traffic. And that driver got that close to me, keeping entirely on the right-hand lane, of course, that I could easily have touched the truck. I must admit that the driver had slowed down a lot, but I still felt quite uncomfortable. Anyway, this was really the first time and I still maintain – as expressed in a previous posting – that the drivers of the big rigs are really considerate.

Leave a comment

Filed under safety

I' d really love to hear from y'alls!

