11th Annual Fredericksburg Fall Foliage Frolic

Again, as in the years before, it was a great event, well organized by the Hill Country Bicycle Touring Club, from registration onsite and the SAG-support to the great meal, cooked as usual by the Mendozas. Especially the meal gave a great opportunity to sit outside the Tatsch House in the sun and relax and chat with other riders.

Well, we were lucky with the weather. Although it was quite chilly early in the morning – as can be expected in the Texas Hill Country at this time of the year – it warmed up pretty nicely later. And even with the chill in the air, around 160 riders turned out. I, though, was really happy that I had decided to drive a SAG-car so that I could sit in there, nicely protected from the chilly morning temps, with the heating on. But I must admit, I missed the camaraderie on the roads, when I did the short route later, after the official rides had been closed. On TX 16 I had the wind in my face, but as most of it was downhill, even if just a tad, it wasn’t too hard going. After turning right onto Morris Ranch Road it felt much better, with the wind not quite on my back, but certainly helping from the thrid quadrant. That allowed for some good speedy runs, especially when it was downhill. At the 1st rest stop, at that time of the day unmanned, of course, I was happy to discover that the porta-potties were still there! The stretch on White Oak Road to FM 2093 was short, just about one mile. And then came that part of the route I don’t like too much: FM 2093. It’s a great up-and-down route, but what I don’t like is that it is a shoulderless two-lane road. Sure, the drivers were very considerate, always left enough room between them and me when overtaking and even refrained from overtaking and stayed behind me when they couldn’t see beyond a hill. I never felt afraid, but I always felt uneasy as I was blocking their progress. But I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. I didn’t go back to the Tatsch House, though, but turned left on Kerr Road and rode my bike to the Metzger Sunday House where we – my wife and me – were staying for the weekend.

The routes were the same as last year, 29, 50 and 62 miles of lovely rolling hills – and sometimes not so “lovely rolling” but quite steep – of the Texas Hill Country. Especially the stretches on Morris Ranch Road, White Oak Road and Friedrich Road were great riding with beutiful vistas opening everywhere. Well, sometimes the ascents could be a tad steep, but mercifully they were never long. Check out my ride on Ride with GPS.

Here’s a collage of some of the pics I took. Clockwise, from top left:

  • Early morning before the start at the Tatsch House in Ladybird Johnson Municipal Park
  • Riders chatting, warming themselves up in the sunshine and having refreshments at the 1st rest stop
  • Mando Campos directing the traffic at the 1st rest stop
  • Yvonne, Diana and an unknown rider chatting
  • The helpful guy from Rideaway Bicycles tuning up a participant’s bicycle
Frolic

2010 Fredericksburg Fall Foliage Frolic

For a nice account of the Frolic and more and better pictures than mine, check out the Pedal Pushers blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under clubs, events, Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg Fall Foliage Frolic, HCBTC, Hill Country, rides, Texas

I' d really love to hear from y'alls!

