Ride to Remember

Last Saturday [Sept. 11] I took part in the Ride to Remember in Poth/TX.  It wasn’t really “my day”, as I didn’t feel too chirpy in the morning. And added to this, the weather was really murky: hot [around 80] and humid [more than 90% relative humidity]. This didn’t make me feel good. I decided to get on anyway, tough.  But I did choose the shortest [but for the “rookie” course] route: 22 miles. That went well with me and I had a good average: 16.8 mph. Dripping with sweat, though. Well, since it was a short route at a good average, I was back in Poth very early – much too early for the lunch [BBQ] that came with the ride. I just decided to drive back home to get out of me wet bicycling attire. It’s a pity I missed that barbeque. I’m sure it was good, as the event was catered by the Lazy J people from Floresville.

Since it was only that short an experience for me, I can’t say much. But I did see a well organized ride. I was really positively surprised how smooth everything went at the registration/packet pick-up. And from what I could see while “blazing” by, the rest stops were well organized, too. And they were really frequent: one at about every 5 miles.

In more than one sense, truly a Ride to Remember!

1 Comment

Filed under bicycling, events, personal, rides

One response to “Ride to Remember

  1. Pingback: Daily News Roundup September 13, 2010 – Texas Bicycling « Texbiker.net

I' d really love to hear from y'alls!

